Using Scraps Part II – Paper Pumpkins

I found this paper pumpkin idea by accident (www. makeminelime.blogspot.com).   Don’t you have more scraps than you know what to do with?  Especially those long strips of paper left over from doing titles, borders, etc.  When I saw this craft, I thought it was a great idea to use some of them up.  I thought you might enjoy making them, so I wanted to share the love.

I changed it around a little.  I widened some of the strips and shortened some, so my pumpkins are different sizes.  I made some for all my friends and they are starting to pile up around my house.  Once you make one and you get it figured out, they are easy, not to mention addicting.

After pumpkin season, try some Christmas paper and make ornaments.  You can make them and use as place cards when you are hosting a holiday lunch or dinner, just add your guests’ names to tags and hang them from the pumpkin and/or ornament.

1.       Cut up some paper into about 8” by 1” strips (about 6 of them).

 

 

 

 

2.      Make a hole in each end of each strip with a hole punch and then one in the middle.

 

 

 

 

3.       Connect the strips together by the center hole with a brad.

 

 

 

 

4.       Bring up the ends of the strips and connect them all with one brad at the top.

 

 

 

 

5.       Pull out the strips to make a pumpkin.

6.       Add a stem with a glue gun and tie on a tag.

 

 

 

Play around with the sizes.  Some of mine are shorter and narrower and vice-versa.  You can even put pumpkins inside of pumpkins.  They are so much fun!

About scrapbookeasy

Thank you for visiting my blog! Here's a little about me: I am now a stay-at-home mom courtesy of a little epidemic called "A Bad Economy." It was quite a blessing in disguise because all this new-found free time gave me the opportunity to start an online scrapbooking supply business (you can find us at www.TheScrapbookPeople.com. We are geared toward the busy scrapper and offer easy to use products and kits -- sorry, shameless plug). Scrapbooking is a craft I found, jumped into and became an addict of almost 20 years ago. I love history, so what better way to preserve my own history through this wonderful craft, right? I love to share new things that I learned, discovered or think about with everyone so enjoy!

Posted on October 18, 2010, in paper crafts, scrapbook, scrapbooking. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

