A Memorial for Our Fallen Heroes

Field of Flags

“Field of Flags” — That is the name of the memorial that my church is hosting this month for our true heroes, our fallen soldiers.  Each one of these flags not only represents an American soldier who has given up his or her life for us in Iraq and Afghanistan, but also for the family members and friends who have been left behind.  The flags are covering the front lawn and are set 12 inches apart from each other to resemble the Arlington National Cemetery. There are over 5,500 flags in the field and is a beautiful sight to see.  Unfortunately, that beauty comes at a high cost…that is how many soldiers we have lost since 2001.

When I visited the memorial this past week, I was struck by how somber and moving the mood was.  Just driving by the site brings tears to my eyes.  It reminds me that it’s important to stop and remember our fallen heroes while we go about our daily lives of running the kids around, going to the grocery store and attending our neighbor’s barbeque.  Next time you are in church, add these soldiers and their families to your prayer list.  Say a silent thank you for giving up their lives and remember to thank our troops who are still over there and pray for their safe return.

I am eternally grateful to all the men and women who have died for our country’s freedom, and grateful for the men and women who are serving or have served.  I feel blessed to be a part of this beautiful nation of love, selflessness and support.  Thank you for all you do, without you, we would not have the freedom and harmony we are able to enjoy today.

About scrapbookeasy

Thank you for visiting my blog! Here's a little about me: I am now a stay-at-home mom courtesy of a little epidemic called "A Bad Economy." It was quite a blessing in disguise because all this new-found free time gave me the opportunity to start an online scrapbooking supply business (you can find us at www.TheScrapbookPeople.com. We are geared toward the busy scrapper and offer easy to use products and kits -- sorry, shameless plug). Scrapbooking is a craft I found, jumped into and became an addict of almost 20 years ago. I love history, so what better way to preserve my own history through this wonderful craft, right? I love to share new things that I learned, discovered or think about with everyone so enjoy!

Posted on August 5, 2010, in paper crafts, scrapbook, scrapbooking. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

