Good Ahead, Embarrass the Children

Remember when I wrote about what the weirdest thing was that I ever scrapbooked (if not, refer to the March 2010 archive)?  In it I mention embarrassing your children.  Well, I said I would write about that another time and that time has come.  When I write in my blog, I do like to write a little about scrapbooking.  But, you ask…”How is scrapbooking and embarrassing the children related?”  Oh, in so, so many ways.  Believe me, it’s not your intention to upset them, but it will.  Don’t hold back on taking those cute little naked pictures of them as babies having their bath-time.  I have a photo of my daughter sitting on her “potty” complete with plastic necklace, floppy hat and Dr. Seuss (of course, what good potty training moment is done without the jewels and hat?).  My husband keeps that in a frame on his desk.  I guess it reminds him that she HAS taken after him at least a little (the reading on the toilet part, not wearing the jewelry).  But, I’m not here to embarrass my husband, just my kid.  By the way, I plan on using that one at her engagement party when the time comes.  My point is, snap away no matter how embarrassing it will be later in life.  My mother has a photo of me in the middle of summer wearing a bathing suit and white go-go boots (insert Cringe here).  I wanted to die when I brought my then-boyfriend home for the first time and my mom thought it appropriate to pull that one out.  Years later, I appreciate that photograph.  It told a little of who I was (not too different from now, I might add).  So, don’t worry and don’t miss a moment.  They’ll love you for it…well, one day anyway.

About scrapbookeasy

Thank you for visiting my blog! Here's a little about me: I am now a stay-at-home mom courtesy of a little epidemic called "A Bad Economy." It was quite a blessing in disguise because all this new-found free time gave me the opportunity to start an online scrapbooking supply business (you can find us at www.TheScrapbookPeople.com. We are geared toward the busy scrapper and offer easy to use products and kits -- sorry, shameless plug). Scrapbooking is a craft I found, jumped into and became an addict of almost 20 years ago. I love history, so what better way to preserve my own history through this wonderful craft, right? I love to share new things that I learned, discovered or think about with everyone so enjoy!

Posted on July 27, 2010, in Memorabilia Pockets, paper crafts, scrapbook, scrapbooking. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

