Do You Need Scrapbook Therapy?

Oh, it’s just so darn overwhelming.  Sometimes, I find myself breathing into a paper bag because of the stress of it all.  Oh please, I just want to scrap the way I want.  I LOVE all those beautiful layouts I see other people do.  I mean, they are so artistic; they should be hanging in The Metropolitan Museum of Art, right next to Vincent Van Gogh’s “Starry Night”.  I am here to set the record straight.  You CAN scrap the way you want to.  Let me set a scene for you (tell me if this sounds familiar):  You and your friend attend a crop night in the basement of a local church.   It’s so great to get away from your busy life for a few hours; you’ve been looking forward to this all week.  You’ve got your paper, your scissors, some stickers and a couple of die cuts that you made using another friend’s Silhouette machine (we basic scrappers LOVE die-cuts).  You are in the groove, getting those photos into your album.  “Wow,” you say to yourself, “now I’m only 5 years behind, good for me.”  Until you notice the woman sitting next to you has just created a work of art…literally.  You feel like a fool, so you quickly throw your pages into your tote.  If they see your layout, it’ll be like a scene from “Mean Girls”.  Or so you think, but you couldn’t be more wrong.

First of all, let me reassure you that the wonderful thing about the “art” of scrapbooking is there are absolutely NO rules (except, of course, always scrap with acid free EVERYTHING, but you already know that) and second of all, there is harmony & respect amongst the group.  In the 15+ years of my scrapbooking experience, I’ve never met another scrapbook artist who mockingly looked down on my work.  We’re all artists in our own way.  So rock on, Van Gogh, rock on.  Please stay on goal and hold your head high.  By the way, I love your basic supplies.  They are so retro and retro is totally chic!

About scrapbookeasy

Thank you for visiting my blog! Here's a little about me: I am now a stay-at-home mom courtesy of a little epidemic called "A Bad Economy." It was quite a blessing in disguise because all this new-found free time gave me the opportunity to start an online scrapbooking supply business (you can find us at www.TheScrapbookPeople.com. We are geared toward the busy scrapper and offer easy to use products and kits -- sorry, shameless plug). Scrapbooking is a craft I found, jumped into and became an addict of almost 20 years ago. I love history, so what better way to preserve my own history through this wonderful craft, right? I love to share new things that I learned, discovered or think about with everyone so enjoy!

Posted on July 16, 2010, in Memorabilia Pockets, paper crafts, scrapbook, scrapbooking. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

