How To Water and Grow A Crop

I hosted my very first crop at my home last weekend.  What a blast!  Why didn’t I do this before?  I have to say that I honestly don’t know the answer to that.   I’ve had a friend over to scrapbook, but I’ve never hosted a real honest-to-goodness crop before.  Because I have a new scrapbook business (www.TheScrapbookPeople.com — sorry, shameless plug), I provided some supplies, food and drink and a crash course for those who had never scrapbooked before.  One of the reasons why I ran my crop in this manner is because I’m trying to develop a layout library (interested in posting your layouts on my site and getting the chance to win a nice gift?  Submit yours to contests@TheScrapbookPeople.com).   My crop ran for a day and a half, starting on Friday at 3 and going ‘til there was simply no more energy; and then again on Saturday. 

Here’s what you do (it’s SO easy):  Send an Evite (www.evite.com, it’s free) to all your friends who scrapbook, and some who don’t (why not recruit?  I drafted 2 at my event), tell them to pass the invite along, unless of course you are short on space.  Charge each guest $5 or $10 to cover the cost of refreshments or have a pot-luck.  You supply the space (maybe even some basic tools – scissors, die cut maker, paper trimmer, pens — that you already own).  Make it an ongoing event.  Once a week or once a month.  How about a door prize?  Christmas tree shop or the $ store is a great place to get together some inexpensive goodies plus it adds some interest to your event.  Afraid your crop will grow too large?  Split the cost of renting a small community room or switch off with some of the other members.  You shouldn’t meet with much resistance; after all, your friends definitely enjoy this piece of time to catch up on their scrapbook projects!  If you want to get really fancy, have a guest speaker, a new idea for a layout, or a different theme each time.  For those who are behind on scrapbooking (and who isn’t these days?), this is the perfect opportunity to finally get up-to-date.  Not to mention a night out without the kids.  Who wouldn’t like that (sorry kids, we still love you)!

About scrapbookeasy

Thank you for visiting my blog! Here's a little about me: I am now a stay-at-home mom courtesy of a little epidemic called "A Bad Economy." It was quite a blessing in disguise because all this new-found free time gave me the opportunity to start an online scrapbooking supply business (you can find us at www.TheScrapbookPeople.com. We are geared toward the busy scrapper and offer easy to use products and kits -- sorry, shameless plug). Scrapbooking is a craft I found, jumped into and became an addict of almost 20 years ago. I love history, so what better way to preserve my own history through this wonderful craft, right? I love to share new things that I learned, discovered or think about with everyone so enjoy!

Posted on June 3, 2010, in paper crafts, scrapbook, scrapbooking. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

