Erase and Replace (Thank you, Jodie)

Erase and Replace, Erase and Replace…where have I heard that before?  Oh, right.  That’s what my sister-in-law says to her young children when they say or do something that they need to rethink.  When I heard her say that to her kids, I thought it was genius!  I liked it so much, I told her I was stealing that phrase for myself.  But seeing that my daughter is 11 going on 18, I kinda got that “what, am I five?” look, so it didn’t last long in my household.  “But,” I thought to myself, “I just can’t waste that brilliant expression.”  When I confronted my husband (who’s pushing 50) with the idea of having another baby, he didn’t think that was a sufficient enough reason.  Can you imagine??? So, back to the drawing board I went and decided that those 3 little words are perfect for the world of scrapbooking!  Why and how, you ask?  Scrapbooking should be easy, that’s what I try to tell my customers all the time.  “Scrap with Ease” – that’s our motto.  But sometimes, we are just not always happy with how a layout has turned out.  Been there, done that.  The thought of ripping everything apart to make your page something you want to look at over and over again seems daunting; after all, it did take you hours to do in the first place!  Just don’t fret over it.  It’s really quite simple.  Remove your photos (Erase), and cover your mistake(s) by sticking down a full sheet of scrapbook paper onto your page (Replace).  Now you have a clean slate.  Use paper that will bring out a prominent color on your photo, add some journaling and move on.  Key words being “Move” and “On”.  Don’t waste another minute trying to make it perfect.  Save it for another time.    Oh, and try “Erase and Replace” on your children…it’s fun!

About scrapbookeasy

Thank you for visiting my blog! Here's a little about me: I am now a stay-at-home mom courtesy of a little epidemic called "A Bad Economy." It was quite a blessing in disguise because all this new-found free time gave me the opportunity to start an online scrapbooking supply business (you can find us at www.TheScrapbookPeople.com. We are geared toward the busy scrapper and offer easy to use products and kits -- sorry, shameless plug). Scrapbooking is a craft I found, jumped into and became an addict of almost 20 years ago. I love history, so what better way to preserve my own history through this wonderful craft, right? I love to share new things that I learned, discovered or think about with everyone so enjoy!

Posted on February 13, 2010, in Memorabilia Pockets. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

