Take the Guilt out of Scrapbooking (formerly known as “Take the Crap out of Scrap”)

Do you ever wonder why you need to scrap EVERYTHING???  I do, all the time.  It’s this weird thing I have where if I don’t scrap it, I feel completely and utterly guilty!  Let’s say I take a walk and see the cutest little duck in a pond, I take a picture of that cute little duck and feel the need to scrapbook it (sound familiar?).  Why, I ask you, WHY?????  Don’t you think it’s time to take it down a notch?  I do…well, for myself anyway.  Don’t get me wrong, I love to scrap as much as the next guy.  Believe me, it’s a hobby that I am fervently into, so please don’t hate me for going off for a moment (the hormones aren’t helping either).  I’m really just trying to say that it’s ok to downsize, if nothing else but for your sanity.  My advice:  Stick to what you really feel is important and scrap it.  All else goes into a box (make sure it’s acid free and don’t forget to categorize it – you know, under “Fowl, Spring of 2004.”)  And if you have a rainy day, the house is clean, the kids are in school and your scrapbooking is up-to-date, by all means scrapbook the rest.  Take a deep breath.  Isn’t that better now?

About scrapbookeasy

Thank you for visiting my blog! Here's a little about me: I am now a stay-at-home mom courtesy of a little epidemic called "A Bad Economy." It was quite a blessing in disguise because all this new-found free time gave me the opportunity to start an online scrapbooking supply business (you can find us at www.TheScrapbookPeople.com. We are geared toward the busy scrapper and offer easy to use products and kits -- sorry, shameless plug). Scrapbooking is a craft I found, jumped into and became an addict of almost 20 years ago. I love history, so what better way to preserve my own history through this wonderful craft, right? I love to share new things that I learned, discovered or think about with everyone so enjoy!

Posted on February 2, 2010, in scrapbook, scrapbooking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Haha, this is so funny! And so true. It might be the opposite case for me though, my guilt comes from NOT scrapbooking anything. So maybe I should lay off the guilt and then it might become something fun for me to do in my spare time. 🙂 Thanks!

    BTW- I love your store! I got my friend a gift certificate for her baby shower, so now she has a place to get her supplies when she’s ready to scrapbook the first days of her beautiful baby girl.

    • Don’t feel guilty for not scrapping at all. And yes, scrapbooking is fun, there should be no guilt involved. Just put aside some time and do it in small intervals. Glad you like my site and thanks for your comment!

  2. Thanks for making me feel better. I thought I was alone.
    I have soooo many photos,it’s almost overwhelming. You have given me some great advice. Next snowy day, I am going to go through my pile and decide which of my photos REALLY belong in a scrapbook…the others will get filed (properly). I now feel like I can tackle and actually enjoy scraping those pictures that mean the most to me. It should be fun,right? 🙂

    Love your products and want you to know you will be hearing from me again soon…maybe showing off some of my pages.
    Thanks,
    Grateful in Vermont

Leave a Reply

